The Dienger Trading Co.
For more than a century, The Dienger Trading Co. has been at the center of our small town’s community. Originally a dry goods store, the building has been home to everything from a team of geologists to the town’s main library.
Today visitors will find a bakery, bistro, and boutique housed behind the original, antique glass windows. Whether you’re a local or just passing through, it’s our pleasure to bring the quintessential Boerne experience to you.
A Boerne Legacy
Joseph Dienger begins construction on the Dienger building, which ultimately serves as both a grocery store and residence to Joseph, his wife, Ida and their seven children. The store sells important staples such as flour, cornmeal, sugar, coffee, beans, dried pears and potatoes.
Mr. Dienger expands the existing store to create a dry goods store for his sisters, Lina and Louise to run. Together they sell fabrics, shoes, linens and ready-to-wear garments in what is now the Dienger’s boutique.
Adolph Harz opens his wheelwright store on the north side, adjacent to the Dienger building. Within a year the Dienger and Harz buildings are connected.
Joseph, Lina, and Louise sell the store to their younger brother, Charles. Over the years other members of the Dienger family take their turns owning and operating the store.
Mrs. Emmie Dienger sells the Dienger Grocery to Mr. & Mrs. E. A. Henke. Mr. Henke installs a meat market and adds new grocery offerings, while Mrs. Dienger stays on as an employee at the store.
Joseph Dienger passes away in July of 1950 and Ida follows in 1952. Their children carry on their rich legacy.
The building is purchased by a group of businessmen who convert the building into Antlers, a pioneer-style restaurant named for Joseph Dienger’s basement collection of more than 2,000 deer and moose antlers. The north section of the Dienger building is rented to the Rodrigues family and operated as a grocery store. That year Mrs. Harz sells the portion of the building owned by the Harz family and Epperson Motors begins operation in that same section.
Antler’s Restaurant is closed and the building is purchased by the First National Bank of Boerne. Nearly two years later in 1980, William and Paige Ramsey-Palmer buy and renovate the Dienger building; remodeling to create office space for a team of local geologists.
P.M. Magazine visits Boerne to film a segment on the Dienger building’s resident ghost, rumored to be Joseph Dienger himself.
The Dienger building is designated a Texas Historical Landmark and listed two years later on the National register of historical places in 1984.
The Dienger building is purchased by The City of Boerne and restored in a massive restoration project. The Boerne Public Library opens in the Dienger building on June 2, 1991.
The Klinge brothers, paranormal specialist from Everyday Paranormal visit the Dienger to investigate rumors that Joseph and Ida Deinger’s spirits still haunt the building. The brothers’ results confirm paranormal activity takes place in the building.
The Boerne Public Library relocates to a newly constructed facility and The Dienger building is purchased by Bays Investment, LLC, an oil and gas exploration company from Oklahoma City. The new company never occupies the building and it remains vacant for three years.
Raymond and Lisa Lunsford purchase the Dienger building and begin construction to renovate and restore the building to its original glory. Their dream is to provide a beautiful space for the Boerne community to gather and enjoy.
The Dienger Trading Co. officially opens its doors, with the Lunsfords introducing a modern day version of the Dienger family’s original 1884 vision. Today The Dienger Trading Co. is a bakery, bistro and lifestyle boutique.